Revisiting Phantasy Star Universe

PSU Title Screen in 2k

It’s 2021 and I’m playing PSU again in 2k! I’d totally run it at 4k if the UI scaled properly.

I’ve been playing PSU again since the Clementine private server launched last year. And I’ve got to say it’s pretty nice. I wasn’t sure if I would get into the game again so I put in just under 400 hours into the game (so far), you know to make sure that I liked the game. I mean everyone knows that you need to put a few hundred hours into a game to know if you truly like it.

It’s been nice playing old favorites like Lightning Beasts, new missions like Beach Bum Beasts and stuff I rarely (or never) bothered with like missions on Moatoob such as Dusty Mines. I also never realized that PSU had support for surround sound on PC before but then again I didn’t have a nice speakers back when I played PSU before. I find that it really adds a lot of character to certain areas so I’ve been pleasantly surprised and pleased by the game’s surround sound support. I’ve also enjoyed the new items that were exclusive to the Japanese servers; there are plenty of new weapons, armors, and units to find. Also I’ve pulled out my old trusty DualShock 2 to play the game too so it’s just like how it was back before the servers closed.

PSU Clementine is old news now but there is a lot to like about it. On the technical side you have options for high resolutions (vs. Sega’s 720p as the only widescreen option), increased enemy render distance, a quick star option to get right to the title screen, and even an option to disable the video that plays if you idle on the title screen. Also obviously the game no longer has that Gameguard trash.

The server also has some gameplay changes that are pretty nice as well:

1) Missions drops deviate from Sega’s which I like since it encourages running different missions and gives us access to the new items and weapons that were exclusive to the Japanese PSU server. I’m sure that everyone misses the days of running White Beasts a billion times.

2) Grinding has been changed to be a bit more friendly towards players with higher success rates, and a chance to complete 2 grinds in one upgrade. Additionally, grinding no longer resets you weapon to 0 on failure instead you lose 1 grind if your under the 5th grind and 2 above while still losing 1 on max grind for the weapon.

Boards to create grinders for A and S grinders are on the expensive side compared to the official servers.  A rank cost 15,000 meseta compared to 4000 and S rank cost 50,000 meseta compared to 30,000. At least you don’t have your grinds reset to 0 like the old grinding method which makes the prices a little easier to accept.

3) The newest change in the grinding system also brought us GUARDIANS Cash and GUARDIANS Upgrade & Repair Station. GC is earned through completing missions and you can use it to repair the max grind on your weapons plus some other things such as grinding with no failure up to 8, add/change/remove elements, and increase elements up to 40%.

4) Then there are a bunch of little things that are nice such as having all weapons on your pallet will regenerate PP, various chat commands such as commands to change line shields that you can set as shortcuts, some clear boxes drop 2 items and being able to quickly travel to other planets using the Universe Cube.

It’s been a pretty nice experience on the Clementine server and I find it refreshing to see it ran by people that actually care about the game. It’s the complete opposite from Sega with how that showed us how they didn’t give a crap about the game (unless it was the Japanese server).

And on a slightly unrelated note I hope that the issues that prevent the Moatoob Papagayo from speaking on the Clementine server can be fixed. You know so I can teach my bird bro to say terrible inspiring things to all that visit my shop.

This entry was posted in Phantasy Star Universe, PSU: Clementine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment